Skip to content

I’ve got the creative itch..

February 11, 2013

mattguitar

Once again, I’m feeling too boxed into my career as an electrician, my mundane life routines and I’m getting the urge to bust out and colour my world with a few new paintbrushes.  It’s been awhile since I’ve really tinkered with my guitar.  I mean seriously tinkered with it.  Yes I can play a chord or two, but lately I’m finding myself wanting to really get back into it.  A few nights ago before the Dean Brody concert I found myself in a new friends basement – not just any basement – this dude has it pimped out in a real oldschool rocker fashion.  Seriously, he had like 6 guitars down there and a few mics set up.  I was in a touch of heaven.  He asked me if I could play, where I sheepishly looked at my feet and said “well, I dabble..”.  He plugged his electric acoustic in and shoved the guitar in my face.  He ordered me to play.  I swigged the last of my beer and began.  Within seconds, he asked me if I was finger plucking out some Zac Brown.  I was surprised.  Not that he knew the song “Chicken Fried”, but that he managed it to recognize it from the noise that I was shedding out of his amp.  It was a little bit of inspiration that I needed to go home and start playing again.  Of course I didn’t go home though, we all headed straight to the Dean Brody concert and began a night of memories…or lack there of.

 

IMG_0955

Ah the Dean Brody concert.  That was a good time.  Since I only recently in life got into country music, it was nice to hit up a concert where I actually knew the artist and most of his songs.  What was even better was going back stage to meet him!  This little pic was the only shot I actually took of the show, in between getting beer and going to the washroom.  This was the beginning of the end of the night for me, as after the show we wound up at a local bar where everything goes fuzzy.  I know, I’m supposed to be an inspirational runner and workout enthusiast, but lets face it – I like the sauce.

As fun as the guitar is to play, I don’t think I can settle for only that.  I do enjoy it, but I am by no means a natural.  What does come naturally to me, is my uncanny ability to make people laugh.  I’m not exactly a joke teller, perhaps more of an impromptu ranter.  Plus I’m great at making fun of myself.  And others.  People seem to enjoy that.  Maybe one day I’ll create a category up here telling all of my shinannigans that my friends and co workers seem to enjoy so much.  Anyway, I digress.  This summer I’m going to attempt something I’ve wanted to try for a while.  No, not kareoke.  I have the voice of a herniated cat.  I want to try amateur stand up.  Even if I suck, the awkwardness alone should be a good time.  For everyone else at least.  Maybe I’ll make my debut at my brothers weddings while I’m emceeing it.  I’m sure he’ll forgive me.  Besides, with all the dirt I’ve got on him through the years, it would be a cakewalk.  After all, what are brothers really for?

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

