Skip to content

Summer Bucketlist

April 22, 2013

So, I fell down the stairs yesterday.  Hell of an intro, I know.  No, I’m not making a cover story as to how both arms, ankle, and rump became bruised – I actually DID fall down the flight of stairs at my parents.  Ironically, it wasn’t the fault of alcohol as everyone would naturally assume…it was the fault of a lack of railing leading to the basement coupled with wet feet fresh out of a hot tub.  Luckily, I’m so Spiderman-like that I was able to surf down the stairs half on my heels, half on my elbows and pop out the bottom in a perfectly balanced pose with a posture so perfect it would impress the eldest of Nuns.  It would have been completely flawless if not for the bleeding elbow and foot.  This near death experience made me realize that there is so much in life I haven’t accomplished yet – mostly because I’m lazy – but also due to the fact I lack a general feeling of real motivation.  So I’ve decided to start a summer bucket list.

The List

Now, the list has been compiled based on a small amount of already achieved goals that I want to top.  And even though I’m sure the list will grow as I get even more inspired by daily experience (or watching movies), this is what I’ve come up with so far.

IMG_1189

This was me this past saturday when I ran in a 5k event hosted by the Run Your Heart Out group where they donated all proceeds to Manitoba Mutts.  Although I ran earlier in the week in the Boston Marathon support run, this run was my first official sanctioned run of the year.  And even though I’m already slated to run the Manitoba Marathon this Fathers Day, it has made my bucket list to run a half marathon in under two hours.  This is actually kind of a big deal, as my training has been less than par due to copious amounts of snow in the last few weeks.  So even though the weather is just STARTING to let up, I’ve got under two months of training left to get to where I need to be for the Marathon.  Wish me luck..

IMG_1177

I’m embarrassed to admit this isn’t too far off of the farthest distance I’ve ran to date outdoors this year.  This was taken just moments after slipping off an icy curb and landing face first into a mud puddle.  My reaction time apparently isn’t what it used to be.  So my rebuttal to the face full of icy muddy water is to *attempt* a run of 20mi in one go at some point outdoors this year.  I realize there’s a good chance I won’t be able to do so, but it will be the toughest thing I’ll attempt in all of 2013.  Worst case Ontario, I’ll lose a bunch of weight trying.  Win!

IMG_1192

This…is just awesome.  There’s no goal set here, except the fact that I bought a brand new Winnipeg Jets jersey with my cousin Jer before going to my first Jets game this season over the weekend.  Oh, I also paid for the decaling which is getting done right now, so in about two weeks I’ll have a sweet captain jersey with HAZARD on the back sporting number 82 – my birth year.  Sometimes I’m just too cool for words.

openmic

Lastly – at least for now – I want to try stand up comedy.  I’ve been told many times by many different people that I should really give it a whirl, and last year I half entertained the thought of maybe one day trying it.  This is the year.  I figure I’ve had enough entertaining things happen to me, why not get up there and give it a whirl?  Worst case Ontario I’m terrible at it, and I walk out of there with a slightly larger than normal beer tab.  I’ve done the research and all you get on an open mic night is 5 min, and I’ve got plenty in my ammo bag to fill that time slot with ease.  The trick is the confidence, it will be a little tougher than emceeing a party or event.  Oh well, at least I get to swear.  Keeping that in mind, I’ll can loosen the tongue a little and tell some of the garage stories I keep for my buddies on a boozy night.  So, whether the joke’s on me or the audience, someone should get a laugh.  Here’s hoping its in my favour.

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Tackling Mountains with a Clean Slate | matthazard

Leave a Reply

