Skip to content

Long Road Home

October 28, 2013

We hear about it all the time, from the near arrest stories to the conflicting views on the real dangers of drinking and driving.  Although we are all aware of the repercussions getting an impaired charge can bring, we continuously hear about people who find it just too convenient to grab their keys and drive home.  It has become such an unfortunate common scenario in society, even I was generally not afraid to get into a vehicle with someone who would probably blow over the legal limit.  And this all changed for me when I got that phone call over the weekend.

I was helping move a friend on Saturday morning when my brother called me.  He told me one of our brothers was in the hospital – he wrecked his truck just outside the city and was taken in via ambulance, along with two other passengers.  He had passed out drunk behind the wheel and driven off the road into a ditch.

Police, fire trucks and ambulances were all on scene.  Luckily, all three of them were banged up, but alive.  This exact scenario is what no one ever thinks about when driving drunk.  I’ve heard countless people say they can drive fine while “impaired”.  Everyone expects it to be easy to stay between the lines and maintain the legal speed limit, but in reality it’s all of the small distractions that can add up, and ultimately you can’t prepare for falling asleep behind the wheel.

This doesn’t make my brother a bad person.  This makes him a very unfortunate individual who made an even worse decision, and is now going to have to suffer the consequences.  The only positive element that came of his situation is that no one died.  That ditch could have been a semi, or an oncoming car with passengers.  My entire family is shook, and we’re all viewing the entire concept in a whole new light.  Life really gets placed under the microscope when a situation like this comes walking into your own backyard.

Impaired accidents happen all the time, yet no one ever expects it to happen to them. I know this probably won’t mean much coming from me, but I hope this at least serves as a reminder that this problem is all too real.  Life didn’t mean a whole lot to me until I realized how close I came to losing someone.  Maybe sometimes it takes a scene like this to open our eyes and not take things for granted.  I don’t exactly know how they all survived the crash, whether it be just dumb luck or Divine intervention, but a little faith may have just been restored.

6 Comments
  1. This really hit home for me. I’m very relieved to read that your brother and his friends are all safe after that. I can imagine how scary that was for you and your family. ❤

    • Yes, we are all very relieved it didn’t go the other way. That was all too close. Thank you for your concern!

  2. This happens more than we want to talk about it openly and deal with it. Kudos to you you Matt for bringing a issue up that is real and still a big issue today. I am just so thankful that nobody died or got seriously injured that morning…YOu boys all mean the world to me and Uncle Dave and can’t imagine if anything ever happened to any of you. Life lesson learnt…move on and deal and thank the Lord above for Divine Intervention. xo

  3. Justin permalink

    Considering the fact that I am fortunate enough to know most of your brothers (at some level) I was relieved to hear that everyone was okay. You shed light, yet don’t make light of a very important topic and I’m just glad everyone was okay. I was also unaware that you had a blog, now that I am I’ll have to check up on it from time to time.

    (diabolikal)

    • Thanks buddy, means a lot.

      • Justin permalink

        I’ve toyed with the idea of starting my own blog for a couple of years now, but I’ve never had the courage to do so. You may just give me that push to do it, especially since what you say seems to have practical importance to everyday life. Like this one, which was based on family, potential loss, and the dangers of not driving responsibly. This isn’t some cop giving some speech in school (which may have its merits, that’s debatable) but a real story about real people I know and call friends.

Leave a Reply

