Skip to content

The Gears Have Shifted

March 22, 2016

ffbdec00b2d5c0d0b253d78e6dc6719e8f0eb645_careers.jpg

Back in 2012, I was invited to help out with a video shoot for the QX104 radio station here in Winnipeg. The shoot was a parody music video covering the NHL lockout during that year, and after working with the fun crew at the station I immediately knew that I wanted to get into radio. I also knew I already had a career, and it wouldn’t be an easy transition across, so I began to make some changes.

I joined the social committee for my company and started to emcee work events just to see if I could even talk in front of a crowd, which I could. Through social media, I hosted a charity event at Kildonan Place mall to see if I could handle public speaking, which I did. I even tried my hand performing stand up comedy on amateur night at a club here in the city to test improv, which was a lot of fun (even though I may have bombed). At this point it was 2013, and time to make the commitment to head off to school.

Funding and school, working a full-time job, and paying a mortgage were near impossible but somehow I found a way to get it all done. Along the way I met an incredible lady who’s been more than supportive during the journey. Now, finished school and about 1000 demo tapes in, I’ve found myself working for the very radio broadcasting group that got me hooked in the first place.  I feel like for the first time, I’m doing something that I’m supposed to be doing.  I’m somewhere that I can now entertain on a wide scale.  I’m on a platform where I can maybe even make small difference in this world.  My voice can be heard.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

